Blessings

At my highest peaks,
You were there.
At my lowest points,
You were there.

I imagine you with
Open arms,
A welcoming smile.

When I just want to scream and punch a wall.

When bitterness consumes me and all positivity is sapped from me.

When selfishness makes me blind to everything else in the world.

When I look at a person and know I could never be half the person they are.

When I view my life as unimportant and useless.

Each time you are there.

I imagine you with
Open arms,
A welcoming smile.

You know my pain.

When I smile just to make it through the day, no questions asked.

When it’s guilt that makes me want to pray, but keeps me from doing it.

When the closest of people let me down, again and again.

When I can’t even bear to look at myself, much less love myself.

When the concept of love seems unimaginable for a person like me.

Yes, you are always there.

I imagine you with
Open arms,
A welcoming smile.

You bind my wounds, and make them hurt less and less.

You never let me down no matter what happens.

You embrace me with blessings, though I am so undeserving.

You give me family, my spiritual brothers and sisters, to fight this system with.

You give me confidence to keep working against my flaws.

You are always there with
Open arms,
A welcoming smile.
Because you love me.

Leave a Reply

