A Little Engaged at the Moment…

Today marks ONE MONTH of engagement to the man of my dreams, the One I will always love. In 6 and a half months, I will be marrying him and making an emotional move to Georgia to start life as a Crum. It truly amazes me know that in just a little while I’ll be walking down an aisle, dressed in a beautiful white gown, on my way to my future. I am so excited, happy, and a little nervous.

This may come as a surprise to you, but I dislike attention. (Does it come as a surprise to you?…No really, I want to know.) To clarify, I do like interaction

Seeking attention in my opinion is the girl who posts pictures on social media in hopes of getting compliments, having others talk about her, and having all eyes on her, whatever she is doing, or whatever she is trying to showcase. Seeking interaction is when a person appreciates reading what others have to say, enjoys building friendships and connections, and sincerely shows a willingness to communicate with others. A great example of that is when people create blog posts on here. 

Now, I am not saying I don’t have a social media account, or just hate it when people have the audacity to click “like” or double-tap my photos, but I am saying that I truly like interacting with others. I love people, and having the privilege to learn about others and meet them is the best thing ever. (Thats one reason why I am a nurse.)

The point

I hear ya… Just get to the point already, Rhanda!!

I love being engaged and I truly enjoy having my Special Someone in my life, but (being a person who dislikes attention) it can be overwhelming having people pop up out of nowhere to ask me questions, insert their input, and look at my ring. 

Ghost followers have arisen, work-mates who mean-mug me on the daily are acting like my BFFs, and people who previously didn’t know my name are asking me 1,001 questions about flowers and cake. 

Yeah yeah yeah, they are happy for me. They are curious. They love a good story. Yada yada yada. 

Its just a little off-putting to realize that all of the sudden it’s all eyes on me. People want answers, people want pictures, and (surprise surprise) people want invitations. I literally do not know you!  How in the world can you ask me that with so much confidence, or even insinuate it?

Is it a little over the top for me to write about how frustrated I am that people are being SUPER nice to me? Yeah, a little. But I just feel like people can very easily make my engagement a social hypocrasy. The people who loved me before I had a (stunning) ring are still loving me, but why are those who didn’t care for me all of the sudden so happy for me? I don’t get it.

 I know you weren’t at all expecting to read a rant about engagementhood from me. I promise, I am not usually this negative. You were probably expecting to hear the literary equivalent to rainbows, butterflies, and lollipops. Well, let me calm your nerves. Yes, I am beyond happy, as you could probably attain from the first paragraph. Head over heels happy.


Rant aside, I am very thankful for the love and congratulations from those of you here on my blog and in real life. I definitely feel the love. And I love you guys so much. I often feel like I have been MIA on here, though it may not be readily apparent to you guys. I want to assure you that I definitely have ideas and topics I want to share with you all, just need to find time amidst wedding planning. And speaking of wedding planning, I will be updating you with that also.. 

I’ll see ya when I see ya next!
XOXO 

17 thoughts on “A Little Engaged at the Moment…

  1. Atomic Words says:

    Hey congratulations! I am so happy for you. And I also got married in June and believe when you are from Northern Nigeria you have no control over your wedding, the number of guest or the list or even the entire planning of it. I kept being told it’s their wedding and my marriage!!!😂But I survived lol and I know you will too and will even have more fun doing it than I did due to the difference in culture and traditions. But I definitely look forward to living vicariously through your posts!

      • Sea Fields says:

        Planning a wedding is fun but can be hectic…so many ppl idea of what u should want and what colors to use……etc…..remember it’s good intentions but in the end u gotta be one who satisfied…the one time in your life when you can reasonably “have things your way”, not that you’ll be offending people on purpose but if their is a decision unsure…let’s say the music,menu etc…you and Justin are the ” final” decisions..you both want to agree….other people may get upset maybe because you don’t…and they are good intentions the input you’ll get…you gotta live with Justin. Had people on both sides mad at me because they didn’t like my colors , some wanted to control the music and play only certain types music,didn’t like my reception menu…Yada Yada but in the end We made decisions….I wanted a menu everybody could eat and various types of music including line dances so everyone could enjoy themselves. That’s how it ended up plenty of food so those who helped could take home to their family. Not being negative,just saying you can’t please everybody,somethings will only be you two the final decision after you both discuss the pros and cons. To make you laugh haha…had a person in our wedding tell me she didn’t like my dull colors…haha and I quote”I like pink”,(colors green,black white and cream) I ain’t wearing green!! Welll,let’s just say I had to tactfully let her know,”when you get married,you have all the pink in it you want….yes I would like you in the wedding,but you not changing my colors! (Mother n law was to wear a formal black long gown w pearl necklace and clear glass like shoes..the dress was beautiful …..but this n law told her she’d look like she at a funeral even after I sent picture of dress and she liked it…but let’s just say “compromise” was the best …she wore a white dress and being husband to be mother who I’d known and respected a long time us going to same hall. haha…..You’ll have awkward situations you will look back on and laugh. But oh well have fun this is “Your” day and of course Justin’s but you know everyone is ooh,awwwwing the bride,fussing over “you”…….I can relate w you…I was happy for everyone’s help,fussing over me but I’m not one who crave attention,so I felt a little awkward and out of place. Didn’t me to go on n on…..5 months…Feb.18th will be here..MRS.JUSTIN CRUM. Even though I don’t always reply but LUV reading your blogs!!

  2. chibena says:

    Congratulations! I get what you mean when people suddenly want invitations even though you are not close friends to begin with. Hehe! Good luck with the wedding preparations! Enjoy it as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

